On Dan Mangan

Canadian musician Dan Mangan is quickly becoming one of my new favorite artists (and not just because he reminds me of a charming Seth Rogen). With soaring compositions reminiscent of Mumford and Sons and melodies comparable to those of Josh Ritter, Mangan’s sound could be described as polished folk, indie singer-songwriter, or alternative acoustic rock. His songs quickly get stuck in my head in the best way possible and I have yet to hear a single song of his that I dislike.

I’m pretty new to Mangan’s whole catalogue, but I was glad to see that my local library carried both of his CDs. Mangan’s most recent album, Oh Fortune, won a Juno in Canada and his debut full-length release, Nice, Nice, Very Nice, has quickly become on of my favorite albums. Here are just a few of my favorite tracks from these two albums and there is plenty more to listen to on his website. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

